Selecting right strategy for realizing processor diagnostic-self-testing at runtime for safety

As I’m new to seL4, locking for the right strategy to realize processor diagnostic-self-testing at runtime for a safety application. As I understand “normal” seL4 task operate on EL0 (ARM) and therefore have only limited access to assembler commands and no access to special registers etc. (e.g. verifying cache functionality, mmu functionality, …)
To my current understanding I cannot realize this with a normal seL4 task, but an extension of the kernel is required to establish a, let’s call it system-call - callback, to attach such function to a seL4 system, operating at kernel EL level or below.
What do you think?

Can you be more specific about the functions you need? There are some tracing features available in the kernel that can be enabled. There are also some branches that try to improve things here to support more trace points. There is also a syscall that can be enabled to execute a function in kernel context.

Obviously I’m to brief. We are evaluating seL4 for use in highly dependable systems, according to IEC61508 and EN50128 with safety integrity level SIL3/4. From these regulations not only approved software is required, but also detailed runtime diagnostics of all hardware components involved in safety functions.
For the processor unit this means e.g.:

• verifying each processor command
  • verifying each processor register
  • verifying effectiveness of memory protection/separation (MMU)
  • verifying caches (L1, L2, L3…) to be free of stuck-at errors (data/addresses)

and other components like
  • verifying system timer (clock) to stay in its allowed drift window of some ppm
  • verifying memory (DDR ram) for stuck-at/cross-over/SEU errors (data/addresses)

Today with our own kernel, we establish the software modules related to these runtime diagnostics (verification) as modules called at kernel level.