Untyped Capability Size

Hi, I’m new to seL4 (and OS development in general) and have been going through the tutorial.

In the second tutorial, untyped, the goal is to retype some initially untyped capabilities. I’m confused about the size of the untyped capabilities and how retyping works.

The tutorial starts off like this:

// list of general seL4 objects
seL4_Word objects[] = {seL4_TCBObject, seL4_EndpointObject,
                         seL4_NotificationObject};
// list of general seL4 object size_bits
seL4_Word sizes[] = {seL4_TCBBits, seL4_EndpointBits, seL4_NotificationBits};

// TODO work out what size object we need to create to be able to create all
// of the objects listed above
seL4_Word untyped_size_bits = 0;

I would expect:
untyped_size_bits = seL4_TCBBits + seL4_EndpointBits + seL4_NotificationBits;

However, the solution suggests:
untyped_size_bits = seL4_TCBBits + 1;

seL4_TCBBits is the largest, which I think is important, but I’m not sure why the solution is correct.

The tutorial then follows:

seL4_CPtr parent_untyped = 0;
seL4_CPtr child_untyped = info->empty.start;

// First, find an untyped big enough to fit all of our objects
for (int i = 0; i < (info->untyped.end - info->untyped.start); i++) {
  if (info->untypedList[i].sizeBits >= untyped_size_bits &&
      !info->untypedList[i].isDevice) {
    parent_untyped = info->untyped.start + i;
    break;
  }
}
// create an untyped big enough to retype all of the above objects from

error =
    seL4_Untyped_Retype(parent_untyped, // the untyped capability to retype
                        seL4_UntypedObject,      // type
                        untyped_size_bits,       // size
                        seL4_CapInitThreadCNode, // root
                        0,                       // node_index
                        0,                       // node_depth
                        child_untyped,           // node_offset
                        1                        // num_caps
    );