About Root Task in seL4

Hello everyone, I’m a new guy about seL4, and I’m reading the seL4 tutorial about the capability things.There is a sentence here that I don’t quite understand: In seL4, capabilities to all resources controlled by the kernel are given to the root task on initialisation. My question is:

1. Is the root task kernel task or user task?
  2. If it is a user task, the user task has all capability about kernel object, wouldn’t that be very dangerous for whole system?
    Can someone answer my doubts? Thank you very much. :slight_smile:

Disclaimer: I’m also new to seL4, I might get something wrong…

It is a user-level task, there are no kernel tasks in seL4. seL4 does not do anything at the kernel level it does not absolutely have to - it multiplexes the hardware and provides multiplexing of the CPU while enforcing security policy - that’s pretty much it. There are recordings of Gernot Heiser’s Advanced Operating Systems course, you can find those here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvqM2pmApSY&list=PLtoQeavghzr3nlXyJEXaTLU9Ca0DXWMnt&t=630s

The root task is a similar basic idea (but quite different in implementation) to an init system: an init system starts all the services making up e.g. a Linux system (and uses Linux-y security mechanisms like running them as different users for security), the root task loads and gives only the necessary capabilities to the tasks making up an seL4-based system. In both cases they have pretty much complete power over the system - but for setup and delegating permissions (capabilities in seL4) that’s necessary.

Best Regards,
David

Couple of notes regarding this little big topic.

Some details on the capability concept.
When a thread requests an object from capability-based system, it receives not the requested object itself, but corresponding capability (specifically, its index in a capability list).